Dwaal logo

Dwaal is a heavy, atmospheric doom/sludge/post-metal band from Oslo.

We'll be releasing our debut album, "Gospel of the Vile", on March 6.

About Dwaal

Dwaal is a six-headed behemoth, formed in Norway’s capital city of Oslo in 2014. Their M.O. is to assault the listener with a dense wall of sound that lies somewhere at the intersection of sludge, doom and post metal. The atmosphere they create is one of slow motion, laden with heavy, gloomy riffs and thundering drums, punctuated alternately by despairing vocals one minute, and minimalistic, melancholic melodies the next. A punch in the throat, followed by soothing caress, followed by another punch in the throat.

In April, 2017, they self released their debut EP “Darben”, which contains two tracks spanning 19 and 12 minutes respectively. Since then they have been through a soft reboot, welcoming a new vocalist, a new synth player and a newly recorded debut full length album. The album, named “Gospel of the Vile”, is set to be released via Dark Essence Records some time during the winter of 2019/2020.

Dwaal is:

  • Bjørnar Kristiansen - Vocals
  • Eigil Dragvik - Guitar & Backing vocals
  • Rikke Karlsen - Guitar
  • Stian Hammer - Bass
  • Siri Vestby - Synth
  • Anders Johnsen - Drums


@dwaaldoom on Instagram